Back to Andrigamo's Home Page

Visit and enjoy Andrigamo's Fine Art Photography Journal (Issue 2002,01) - Click here!

"There is nothing either good or bad, but thinking makes it so"
(Shakespeare, Hamlet 2,2)

Graffiti (aerosolart): Is it art or is it crime?
Some call it Artcrime!

Graffiti: Some call it art, some call it crime. Finally some people call it Artcrime! Maybe, the difference makes the location, where you find it or the intention, why they spray it!

More and more graffitis are seen inside our towns. Is this a sign, that more and more walls appear? And: what do we feel looking at all those walls around - with or without graffiti??

So, in my eyes, the decision between art and crime depends on the location, where you find it and on the intention of the graffiti writas (sprayer). The graffiti painting itself may be art and really some of them are! Graffiti may also be a provocation, an act of revenge, a sign of a territory and much more.

Most graffiti that I find are placed on walls, which may (even before) not be called nice-looking in any way ...! And, another point of view: what was the intention to build this wall, where those writas now spray their graffito on? Just think about the former political wall in Germany / Berlin, between East and West! This is only one political aspect of the graffiti phenomena.

The Egg Series 1 Series 2 Series 3 Series 4 Just blue

On the other hand: Some people today like to have nice graffiti on their private wall(s) and naturally, those paintings are legal. Also more and more graffiti paintings appear in in the contexts of publishings and advertisings.

The contemporary phenomenon of graffiti is a cultural one, if someone loves it or not. Behind this, I may like or even dislike that one graffito I am looking at just now, this moment. I think: really good graffiti are worth to be looked at!

Strange World Serie 5 Serie 6 Serie 7 Serie 8 Another blue

Legal or not: Most people (and also I) would surely not enjoy to find some mis-placed graffiti on a well cared-for house anywhere around. But I enjoy those of them, which are well-placed and well-done. They are the source from where I took a lot of fine art photographies. To see them, click one of the thumbnails above and enjoy Andrigamo's fine art photography

Taken from Graffiti



If you like to read more about the graffiti (sub-) culture or to see other pictures, please follow one of the links below (Andrigamo takes no responsibility about the contents of these sites):



Andrigamo is member of the German Graffiti Webring:


If you enjoy this site, www.andrigamo.de, you are invited to place a link to it on your own homepage.
See my instructions here ...

Zurück zu Andrigamo's Startseite

Viel Vergnügen beim Besuch des Andrigamo Fotokunst Journal (Ausgabe 2002,01) - Hier klicken!

"An sich ist nichts weder gut noch böse; das Denken macht es erst dazu"
"There is nothing either good or bad, but thinking makes it so"
(Shakespeare, Hamlet 2,2)

Graffiti (Aerosolart): Kunst oder Kriminalität?
Einige nennen es Artcrime!

Graffiti: Einige nennen es Kunst, andere ein Verbrechen. Nicht zuletzt sprechen einige Leute von Artcrime! Wahrscheinlich liegt der Unterschied darin, wo man sie findet oder die Absichten, warum sie gesprüht wurden!

Mehr und mehr findet man in unseren Städten Graffiti. Ist dies ein Zeichen dafür, daß mehr und mehr Mauern auftauchen? Und: was empfinden wir, wenn wir all diese Mauern um uns herum ansehen - gleichgültig ob mit oder ohne Graffiti??

Insofern beruht in meinen Augen die Unterscheidung zwischen Kunst und Kriminalität auf dem Ort, wo man die Graffiti vorfindet und auf den Absichten der Graffiti Sprayer ("writas"). Das Graffito für sich genommen kann Kunst sein und einige davon sind dies auf jeden Fall! Es kann ebenso eine Provokation, ein Akt der Rache, ein territoriales Zeichen und anderes mehr sein.

Die meisten Graffiti, die ich vorfinde, befinden sich an Wänden, die auch vorher nicht unbedingt als wohlansehnlich bezeichnet werden konnten ...! Und, ein anderer Aspekt kommt noch hinzu: mit welcher Absicht wurde diese Mauer gebaut, auf die nun diese Writas ihre Graffiti aufsprühen? Man denke nur an die frühere politische Mauer mitten in Deutschland / Berlin, zwischen Ost und West! Dies ist lediglich ein politischer Aspekt des Graffiti Phänomens.

The Egg Series 1 Series 2 Series 3 Series 4 Just Blue

Darüber hinaus: Einige Menschen mögen durchaus ein nettes Graffiti auf ihrer privaten Wand und natürlich sind solcherlei Zeichnungen legal. Auch tauchen mehr und mehr Graffiti Bilder im Zusammenhang mit Werbung und anderen Publikationen auf.

Das zeitgenössische Phänomen der Graffiti ist ein kulturelles, ob man dies nun mag oder nicht. Darüberhinaus darf ich (privat) die eine Graffiti, das ich soeben in diesem Augenblick ansehe, mögen oder eben nicht. Ich persönlich meine: wirklich gute Graffiti sind es wert, angesehen zu werden!

Strange World Serie 5 Serie 6 Serie 7 Serie 8 Another blue

Gleich ob legal oder nicht: die meisten Menschen (mich eingeschlossen) würden sicherlich nicht gutheißen, irgendwo ein fehlplaziertes Graffiti an einer Mauer eines gut gepflegten Hauses vorzufinden. Aber ich mag diejenigen, die gut plaziert und gut gemacht sind. Sie sind die Quelle, aus denen ich eine Reihe von künstlerischen Fotografien schöpfte. Und sie zu sehen, klicken Sie auf eines der Vorschaubilder oben und erfreuen Sie sich an Andrigamo's künstlerischer Fotografie

Taken from Graffiti



Wenn Sie mehr über die Graffiti (Sub-) Kultur lesen möchten oder andere Bilder sehen wollen, folgen Sie bitte einem der nachfolgenden Links (Andrigamo übernimmt keine Haftung für die Inhalte dieser Seiten):



Andrigamo ist Mitglied im German Graffiti Webring:


Wenn Sie diese Seite www.andrigamo.de mögen, sind Sie eingeladen, einen Link auf Ihre Homepage zu plazieren.
Zur Kurzanleitung ...